Number of citizens accepted in the frames of Readmission Agreement at EU borders has decreased almost in 4 times



The majority of persons returned during the last year in the frames of realization of Readmission Agreement were accepted at the border with Poland (64%), Slovakia (14%) and Romania (13%). Reminding, Readmission Agreement between Ukraine and EU came into force on January 1, 2010.

Nowadays, Ukraine has entrusted State Border Service and State Migration Service of Ukraine with the implementation of these agreements. Apart from EU, such Agreements were concluded with 9 more countries of the world: Vietnam, Georgia, Moldova, Russia, Turkey, Norway, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Switzerland. Negotiation process goes on with the number of other countries. Thus, for example, border department conciliated the projects of Readmission Agreements with 17 more countries among which there is Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Bangladesh, Iran, Iraq, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, etc. New Readmission Agreement between Ukraine and Russian Federation and Executive Protocol to it also await for their ratification initiated by State Border Service, which were signed by the parties in Moscow in October 2012.

It should be marked that contrary to pessimistic prognosis as to possible problems in realization of the present Agreement, no any complications arise today. Moreover, within every year border guards fix the stable decrease in the number of persons accepted from neighbouring countries. Besides, 39% became less the number of returned citizens of Ukraine. Thus, in 2012 – 288 persons were accepted in comparison with 392 persons in 2011 and 469 persons in 2010. In 3,3 times less became the number of returned citizens of CIS (2012 – 80 persons, 2011 – 168, 2010 – 267) and in 4,7 times – the citizens from other countries (2012 – 28 persons, 2011  – 75, 2010 – 131).

It should be marked separately that in the course of 2012 Ukrainian side handed over 65 persons to the country of departure. These were mainly the citizens of Romania – 30 persons, Poland – 11, Hungary – 5. There were also the citizens of France, Russia, Czech Republic, Germany, Netherlands, Belgium and other in the “list”.